An amazing group of Celtic crosses on the monastery grounds of Kells is worth seeing, almost 60 km north of Dublin in Ireland. This is also the site where the four monks worked in 800 a.D. on the stunning Book of Kells, famous for its unique lavish illustrations intertwined with the text of the four Gospels. The books are exhibited at Trinity College in Dublin.
A visit to the monastic site at the top of Cannon Street at the top of a hill has it all to charm visitors: a tall, 9th century round tower, the Church of Ireland church built in 1778, a grave yard with its stunning Celtic Crosses, and the home of Saint Columbus built in the 9th century with a tunnel connecting it with the church.
View up Suffolk Street, Kells, to the monastic site in Cannon Street.
The monastic area in Cannon Street, Kells, is defined by the stone wall, round tower and church.
The monks originally in Kells fled from Iona Island under threat from a Viking invasion. They were granted land by the Irish High King to establish their monastery .
The monastic site as it originally was.
Built in the 9th century, the incredible round tower has no roof but 5 windows placed to view the 5 roads at a juction, below.
The 9th century South Cross, also called the High Cross, in the Kells monastic graveyard site.
The Kells Round Tower in the background of the incomplete 9th century, East Celtic Cross.
Named the West Cross, this gravesite monument has scenes from the Old and New Testaments on it.
Current front view of St Columcille’s/St Columbus’s House, dating from the 9th century.
The ancient entrance at the back of the house. Local records state there is a tunnel connecting St Columbus’s house to the church.
A back view of St Columbus’s 3 storied stone house with a sloping roof, typical of the 9th century.